Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Consistency Gets Results

I've gotten a few requests to write about what a normal day looks like for me. At this point, it's not very exciting, but low-key and routine usually gets me the best results on stage, so I'm not complaining. After my show, I have plans to take on a few more activities and to try some new things.

Morning
6:40 am: My alarm goes off.
6:49 am: My alarm goes off again.
6:57 am: My alarm goes off yet again.
7:10 am: I drag myself out of bed. I like to think of myself as a "morning person" but I really hate getting out of a nice warm bed.

7:15 - 7:45 am: I begin cardio at some point during this time frame. We have a treadmill at home, so as soon as I can move my feet without tripping, I climb aboard for morning cardio. The cats and dog "help" by either looking out the window or sacking out for a nap on the floor next to me.

After cardio, I get ready to face the world. I make a BBF shake and grab some almonds, then hop in the car and head to work. I consume Meal 1 in the car.

Startin' the day off RIGHT! BBF Shake
9:00 - 9:30 am: I get to work. I'm an eLearning Specialist/Instructional Designer/Business Analyst. Basically, what that means is that I create and design online training courses, assist in website redesign projects, conduct website usability testing, and work on web analytics reports. I enjoy my job most of the time (which I feel is important, being that I spend 40+ hours a week doing it). I feel challenged in a good way and like the variety of projects.

11:00 am: My tummy starts telling me it's staaaaarving. I tell it to be patient and wait an hour.

12:00 pm: I race to the kitchen to heat up Meal 2.

Afternoon
I finish eating while working on various projects or attending meetings.

3:00 pm: My tummy starts telling me it's staaaaarving. I tell it to be patient and wait an hour.

4:00 pm: I race to the kitchen to heat up Meal 3.

5:00 - 5:30 pm: I pack up and head to the gym. I drink my pre-workout drink in the car when I'm about 10 minutes away from the gym.

Evening
6:00 pm: On Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays, I train and then do cardio immediately after. On Wednesdays, I just do cardio. On those days, sometimes I head home and do cardio at home instead. I have to admit, the closer I get to the show, the less time I want to spend at the gym. Plus, I can multi-task at home by throwing in a load of laundry when I start cardio.

8:00 - 8:30 pm: I chug my post-workout shake and leave the gym. Most days I head home, other days I run some errands or go tanning (don't judge!). It really depends on how I feel (most days I'm wiped out by this point) and what I absolutely have to do that evening.

8:30 - 9:00 pm: At home, I get my clothes and food ready for the next day. I very rarely cook during the week - I'd rather cook on Sundays. Sometimes my food is portioned out already; sometimes it's not. Most of the food I eat right now doesn't need to be cooked, which also saves me time and stress. Meal 4 cooks while I get food ready for the following day.

I like to visit with J, catch up on Facebook, read, or watch mindless television shows while eating my last meal of the day. It's my wind-down time, when I can finally let my body and mind slow down.

10:00 - 11:00 pm: I crawl into bed and read or surf Groupon while Ed tries desperately to get my attention. He chews on my hair and walks all over me like I'm his jungle gym.

Ed absorbing wisdom from Arnold's book
Lately, I've been trying to get to bed closer to 10 pm because, as I mentioned, I seem to need at least 8 hours of sleep in order to be fully functional all day.

That's pretty much how most of my weekdays look. Add in 7-10 restroom trips to account for all the water I drink, and a few more trips to the kitchen to refill the water bottle periodically throughout the day.

Weekends
Weekends really vary, depending on our plans and commitments. I do both morning and evening cardio on our treadmill at home, and I stick to my meal plan. I have my progress pictures taken on Sunday mornings. Apart from that, every weekend is different. At some point, we go grocery shopping. I usually make a trip to Target or to the mall for essentials and non-essentials. We don't go out to eat, but we do go to movies for Date Nights. I bring my own food in my little purse cooler and eat in the theatre at my meal time.

I try to make my life as consistent and stress-free as possible when I'm in prep. Routine is a competitor's best friend.

Do you have a daily routine? What things vary in your routine?

No comments:

Post a Comment